Dr. Wynand Louw » About the NLA

The National Laboratory Association – South Africa (NLA-SA) is a representative body that evolved from the previous National Laboratory Accreditation service.  Following the assumption of overall responsibility for accreditation (including laboratory accreditation) by the South African National Accreditation System (SANAS) during 1998, it was decided that a new independent body should be created.

The NLA-SA is a non-profit stakeholder body that represents the voice of South African laboratories. Having over 200 organisations who are members they represent the diverse nature of activities within testing and calibration services.

The objectives of the National Laboratory Association – South Africa is to become a truly representative association for accredited and non-accredited laboratories. In using the term laboratory this should be recognised in the widest sense and it includes measuring, testing, calibration, verification and other bodies, as well as laboratories which operate in well-defined areas of R&D in the natural and applied sciences.

The acronym, NLA-SA, which was linked to the previous National Laboratory Accreditation service was retained, both for the purpose of continuity and because it is well-recognised and respected.

The NLA is a section 21, not for gain company and has a board of directors who are elected from its members. In addition the NMISA, SANAS, SABS Standards Division and NRCS are co-opted onto the board.

NLA-SA Board Organogram

NLA-SA Board Organogram


Current NLA-SA Board Members

Dr. Wynand Louw

Director National Laboratory Association – South Africa (NLA-SA)
Photo of Dr. Wynand Louw

Biographical Info

Dr Wynand Louw is Director of Research, International and Infrastructure Development at NMISA (National Metrology Institute of South Africa), where he was involved in establishing the Intra-Africa Metrology System and was the inaugural chair. He represented NMISA at the Consultative Committee for Amount of Substance of the International Committee for Weights and Measures (CIPM), and was a founder member of the Surface Analysis Working Group. He is a member of the Joint Committee for Regional Metrology Organisations and the BIPM (Bureau International des Poids et Mesures) and was Chair of the Cooperation on International Traceability in Analytical Chemistry. Elected to the CIPM, he is President of the Consultative Committee for Ionising Radiation and has a guest seat on the Consultative Committee for Units. He is focused on Accurate Measurement in all sectors.

Categories: NLA-SA Board

Objectives of the NLA-SA

The NLA-SA’s focus is primarily on the representation of the activities, interests and opinions of all members laboratories.  Membership of the Association is voluntary and open to all laboratories.

The current objectives of the NLA are:

  • To represent the experience, knowledge and formulated opinions of South African laboratories on a technical, ethical and commercial level.
  • To assist in the interpretation of accreditation requirements, to identify generic national accreditation needs and to resolve issues that were not covered by the SANAS Specialist Technical Committees (STC)
  • To establish a singular interface of representation of its members with SANAS, SABS and the NML
  • To provide a mechanism for technology transfer among its members by means of workshops, seminars, symposia, specialist interest groups, printed reports and newsletters.
  • To establish effective communication channels for technology transfer with organisations that have similar objectives to the NLA (Such as Eurolab)